It’s Complicated.

No really. It is. It’s never easy when you’re moving house, but moving overseas with a husband and two kids – even moving “back home” (said very loosely…) – is no simple task. Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to the change (h-e-a-t!) and I’m excited for the opportunity for my husband and our family. It’ll be great to be somewhere that I don’t have to fill out all sorts of paperwork every few years just to live there (except on arrival, of course , we’ll need to get drivers licences, but I imagine that will be it’s own blog post in a few weeks….). But there is a lot of work that has to go on to ensure that these things happen smoothly.

Logistics coordinator – that’s me. The minutiae isn’t all that interesting, but there have been many segments of this current chapter of our lives that I have had to draw to a close: school, work, pre-school, the grocery store, the dentist, playgroup, PTA, etc. I can honestly say, this has been the  most emotionally draining move I’ve made in many many years. I don’t remember leaving the States being so draining, even. But now, I’ve got friends – very good friends. The kids have friends and their schedules. Steve has many of his lifelong friends and even his family nearby. And, of course, the chickens.

These things may sound trivial, but I think it’s relationships that make life worth living. In any sense. If you don’t have friends, and family, or chickens, to interact with and get to know and trust and love, then what’s the point?

Anyway, I try not to get too sentimental, but I have a feeling this week is going to be difficult. There are so many “lasts” now. I did my last big weekly grocery shop yesterday. I’ve got one more time to hear “How Do You Like Your Eggs in the Morning” all the way through on the Tuesday school run. I’ve got one more toddler session on Thursday. I’ve got one more Costa Friday. I probably shouldn’t be writing all this out, I’m getting a bit choked up.

It’s complicated.

One response to “It’s Complicated.

Leave a Reply

Baking Newbie

Misadventures in baking and cake decorating

Shop Girl Anonymous

Not Just For Retail Enthusiasts

Knocked Up Abroad

Stories of pregnancy, birth, and raising a family in a foreign country

Roberta Pimentel

Just another WordPress site

raising the shakes

I'm a mom who swears sometimes, loves a lot and drinks wine with low carb meals while chasing my sassy babies. Welcome to my life!

Happy Sensitive Kids

For parents of highly sensitive children and those parenting as a highly sensitive person

Anna Leiter

A blogger sharing all her thoughts and feelings regarding motherhood, including the dirty details

The Tina Situation

I tell it like it is so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

