Amusements.

So, yesterday, on my morning trek to the local Starbucks, I sat outside for several minutes trying to sort out my new Starbucks card (I did it, I rock). As I was sitting there, I noticed there were several older gentlemen assembled around a table for their morning coffee and gossip session. A few things about this arrangement struck me as funny:

1. It was older men. They must’ve all been retired, and I guess, really, having a coffee and a chat with your mates isn’t a bad way to spend a morning.

2. They were just talking about mundane things. I know we all just talk about mundane things – but, Seinfeld was funny, so I guess mundane is funny.

3. Specifically, they were talking about education. This snippet was my favourite quote of the day:

“I told him, there are three things you can do (referencing going to school): studying, sports and girls. I figure you can do any two of those things successfully, but not all three.”

* * * * * *

This afternoon, we drove out to a suburb called Katy to visit a SuperTarget. My son is set on getting a Marker Maker by Crayola and he was desperately hoping that they would have it there (they didn’t, I guess it’s off to Googles for us). Anyway, after we were finished, it was time for lunch, so I asked the Target lady if she knew of anywhere to go. She found the manager who had a plethora of suggestions, but she was a fervent supporter of a sandwich shop called Which Wich, wouldn’t  you know it was located within walking distance! We were already sold on it, but then she mentioned that the kids meals come with Rice Krispies Treats – say no more, lady, we’re on our way!

So, you get there and you have to fill out these paper sacks, that look a bit like Scantron test sheets, detailing which type of sandwich you would like and what you would like on it. I filled out three paper sacks, and when I got my sandwich back, I was troubled to find that I had missed one question. Apparently, I forgot to mark what size I wanted.

I was really hoping to get 100%, I guess I’ll just have to go back and try again.

2 responses to “Amusements.

  • Pam

    You may have overheard my dad and his friends :)) He’s retired. On the mornings they do not play golf, which is most I imagine, they have coffee like this.. although he lives a little further out near Kingwood area.. they probably gossip a lot about Obama 🙂

  • Tina Steele

    “I told him, there are three things you can do (referencing going to school): studying, sports and girls. I figure you can do any two of those things successfully, but not all three.”

    That is genius stuff right there. Love it. I could have spent hours drinking coffee and listening to those old dudes.

Leave a Reply

Baking Newbie

Misadventures in baking and cake decorating

Shop Girl Anonymous

Not Just For Retail Enthusiasts

Knocked Up Abroad

Stories of pregnancy, birth, and raising a family in a foreign country

Roberta Pimentel

Just another WordPress site

raising the shakes

I'm a mom who swears sometimes, loves a lot and drinks wine with low carb meals while chasing my sassy babies. Welcome to my life!

Happy Sensitive Kids

For parents of highly sensitive children and those parenting as a highly sensitive person

Anna Leiter

A blogger sharing all her thoughts and feelings regarding motherhood, including the dirty details

The Tina Situation

I tell it like it is so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

