Catching Up

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. That’s mainly because I’ve been busy enjoying life in Houston. We haven’t done many newsworthy or bucket-listable things, but we’ve enjoyed ourselves all the same.

The good news: we’ve found a home. It’s not as close to the Galleria (and thus Steve’s work) as we’d originally hoped, but it’s a lovely home that suits our family well-and it even has a small vegetable patch, which I think is pretty cool.

The slightly more awkward news: Repatriation can make an ass out of you and me.

Normally, when you think of culture shock, you think of what it means to move somewhere new, presumably a new country with strange customs and exotic people. For me, culture shock has been more uncomfortable since moving back to the States. Sure, there are little things that are different and take some getting used to: the incredible amount of choice one faces in the cereal aisle, or the friendliness of just about everybody in the customer service industry (I know, I know, there are some definite exceptions to this, but honestly, customer service in this country is far superior to other places I have lived…I won’t name names coughBlightycough).

But what I’m talking about are the not often discussed, but normally understood ways of a particular place. See, we committed a slight faux pas. Unknowingly, mind you, but that is pretty much my point. Here in Houston (and in other parts of the country, I’ve recently found out), it is frowned upon to use more than one realtor to show you properties. It is not location-dependant like it is in other places I have lived. I didn’t know that. In fact, I didn’t even think to ask, because everywhere else I’ve lived, I’ve been advised that it is location-dependent and it is a waste of time to talk to an agent who covers area A about area B.

But, I didn’t know that. And the agents that I’ve been working with didn’t know that I didn’t know that. And nobody mentioned it because nobody knew that it needed to be mentioned. So, I ended up getting an earful from an agent who chose to be less than professional with regard to our ignorance. I don’t think the behavior was warranted at all, but from the agent’s point of view, we were kind of being jerks.

My point is, had there been some sort of repatriation fairy present whispering all the necessary information to all the parties involved, this whole mess could been avoided.

It was not a fun lesson to learn, but I can promise you, I’ve learned it now.

Leave a Reply

Baking Newbie

Misadventures in baking and cake decorating

Shop Girl Anonymous

Not Just For Retail Enthusiasts

Knocked Up Abroad

Stories of pregnancy, birth, and raising a family in a foreign country

Roberta Pimentel

Just another WordPress site

raising the shakes

I'm a mom who swears sometimes, loves a lot and drinks wine with low carb meals while chasing my sassy babies. Welcome to my life!

Happy Sensitive Kids

For parents of highly sensitive children and those parenting as a highly sensitive person

Anna Leiter

A blogger sharing all her thoughts and feelings regarding motherhood, including the dirty details

The Tina Situation

I tell it like it is so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

