Look What They Done to ‘im

In high school, my friend Tina (of The Tina Situation) and I went through a phase of watching the Faces of Death movies (I think it was more like a night or two, rather than an actual phase, but still). I remember sitting in her basement, looking through my fingers to see all these people meet their demise in various tragic, ridiculous, and dare I say staged, ways. One scene that has stuck with me, and has since caused me to learn alligator evasion tactics, was the the one where the man gets blown off course during a sky diving competition and comes down in the gator pit at Gatorama in Florida.  All you see is some thrashing, and you hear the tourist videotaping it exclaim in horror, “Look what they done to ‘im!” *shiver*

Why am I telling you this? Because if you look closely at the sign below, you’ll see it states, “Beware of Alligators & Poisonous Snakes”. Why is this important? Because this sign is repeated every hundred yards or so around the lake where I did my run this weekend.

image

*pause for effect*

Can you imagine what was going on in my head during this run? Scan for escape routes, breathe, run zigzag, don’t show fear, breathe, kick the gator on his snout, breath. 

There are several of these gator lakes and bayous here in Katy, and the majority of the running trails snake (pun intended) their way around them. I should note that at any given time, there are several people using these trails and I have yet to spot a gator, but I doubt that’s going to ease my imagination at all.

2 responses to “Look What They Done to ‘im

  • Tina Steele

    I miss our bad horror movie nights. And also – touché. We only have signs warning of gators around our ponds here in Florida. I guess our snakes are safe. At least, I hope so, since the skinny black ones keep surprising me in my backyard. It’s kind of a blessing I guess, since clutching my chest and screaming in terror when I see one is pretty much the only cardio I get.

Leave a Reply

Baking Newbie

Misadventures in baking and cake decorating

Shop Girl Anonymous

Not Just For Retail Enthusiasts

Knocked Up Abroad

Stories of pregnancy, birth, and raising a family in a foreign country

Roberta Pimentel

Just another WordPress site

raising the shakes

I'm a mom who swears sometimes, loves a lot and drinks wine with low carb meals while chasing my sassy babies. Welcome to my life!

Happy Sensitive Kids

For parents of highly sensitive children and those parenting as a highly sensitive person

Anna Leiter

A blogger sharing all her thoughts and feelings regarding motherhood, including the dirty details

The Tina Situation

I tell it like it is so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

