42

I’m not making a Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy reference about the meaning of life. I am simply stating my age, as my daughter is more than happy to remind me nearly daily. Not to say that I am old, because she is also quick to say that she is not saying I’m old, she just knows how old I am, and she has decided she needs to tell me so, every day.

So, when I opened her backpack this morning (I never get around to it on Friday afternoons, particularly not now that it’s May and we are counting down the days to the end of the school year), I was not all that shocked to find an “All About Mom” sheet in there with my age plastered right across the top.

First line: My mom is *blank* years old. Yes, we get it. It’s so cute when they say “13” or “100” or “cupcakes” or whatever. Somewhat less cute when they’re accurate, though.

But, I have to admit there is something rather endearing about first-grade spellings. I know these words come from her heart, and I don’t mean to poke fun, so I am sharing this in the spirit of adorableness, not in the spirit of let’s laugh at my kid’s terrible spelling. She did great, and I understood all of what she was saying (I am her mother, after all), but there are a couple that may be confusing if you’re not me: The best thing I cook (according to my seven year old) is sammy patties, aka salmon patties. And, I am special because I am awesome.

Not a bad way to start the week, that’s for sure.

Enjoy, and Happy Mother’s Day!All About Mom

 

2 responses to “42

Leave a Reply

Baking Newbie

Misadventures in baking and cake decorating

Shop Girl Anonymous

Not Just For Retail Enthusiasts

Knocked Up Abroad

Stories of pregnancy, birth, and raising a family in a foreign country

Roberta Pimentel

Just another WordPress site

raising the shakes

I'm a mom who swears sometimes, loves a lot and drinks wine with low carb meals while chasing my sassy babies. Welcome to my life!

Happy Sensitive Kids

For parents of highly sensitive children and those parenting as a highly sensitive person

Sudden Denouement Literary Collective

A Forum for Divergent Literature

Anna Leiter

A blogger sharing all her thoughts and feelings regarding motherhood, including the dirty details

The Tina Situation

I tell it like it is so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

